A-Z: Frank Hannah Premier Cup

22 Jun 2020 in News

A-Z: Frank Hannah Premier Cup A-Z: Frank Hannah Premier Cup

Day eight of our A to Z series is all about winning, and something we've won multiple times, H is dedicated to the Frank Hannah Manchester Premier Cup!

Having seen the 2019-20 season brought to a premature and unexpected close, the Nash remain the reigning champions of Manchester's regional cup competition, having won the title during the 2018-19 campaign.

Goals from Ryan Brooke, Louis Wardle and Luke Wall ensured a comfortable 3-1 victory over Mossley AFC at Ewen Fields, home of Northern Premier League outfit, Hyde United. 

This was not the first time the club have celebrated lifting the trophy, having won it five times previous to last year's triumph, and two times before that when the competition was known as the Manchester Intermediate Cup.

The Nash won the cup, which was founded in 1934, five times during the 1980's, with final wins over Irlam Town (2), Droylsden and Flixton. 

Next year's squad will undoubtedly look forward to attempting to retain their crown, looking to lift the trophy in consecutive seasons for the first time since 1987.

Article by Rob Glover.


Older Newer